Product Reviews

Nivea Men Sensitive Post Shave Balm as a Primer?

  There has been soooo much hype surrounding the Nivea Men Sensitive Post Shave Balm that it’s actually ridiculous. Everyone is talking about it from Kylie Jenner down to Jaclyn Hill and many over beauty enthusiast.  Most of you may or may not have heard about this, however for those of you that haven’t then I am going to explain what all the hype is about! 

What is it used for? Well it is obviously a men’s product, used after shaving to combat irritation of the skin.

After hearing, reading and watching a number of video’s about this product being a good primer I decided one day to run down to my nearest boots and purchase this product that everyone has spoken so highly of. Ok you’ve got me there, I hold my hands up I didn’t run, I walked!

Nikkietutorials  first discovered it over a year ago now, you can see the video by clicking on the link. Nikkie had been staying over at boyfriends house, she had forgotten her moisturiser and primer. She noticed her boyfriends Nivea Post shave balm and decided to use that, throughout the day Nikkie could see that her make-up looked flawless and had stayed put throughout the day.

Now most of you might ask, what makes this product a good primer? Well it’s stated that the second most used ingredient is Glycerine, which acts like glue for your foundation to stick too, not only that but it helps your make-up last longer. I can imagine every makeup brand out there frantically creating primers that contains Glycerine.  It is liquid in formula, you only need the tiniest amount (5p size) to cover your entire face. Unbelievable right? I simply rub into my skin till it becomes slightly tacky, before then going in with my foundation. Honestly it feels amazing, my skin feels so hydrated, it also makes my face look flawless. It has a masculine smell to it but only lasts 5 minutes, so don’t be put off by it. I ABSOLUTELY love the smell so it doesn’t bother me as much. Is that weird? 

My first thought was that there is no way this is going to work. However after using this product every single day for over a month, I can say that I LOVE this product! I have a bit of an oily T-zone and before I used to notice my foundation coming away from the comers of my noise and just generally starting to fade. However with this as my new primer I’ve not had any problems, it also lasts allllll day long!!

Nivea Men Sensitive Post Shave Balm retails at £5.35, which is a lot less then your average high end primer! Now if that’s not an incentive to get this product then I don’t know what is?  If you haven’t tried this product then I seriously suggest that you go down to your nearest Superdrug or Boot’s and purchase this product!

Have any of you tried this product? Let me know in the comments what your opinion of it is.

Leigh xox 

2 thoughts on “Nivea Men Sensitive Post Shave Balm as a Primer?

Leave a Reply

